top of page

Neuroscience and Learning Technologies: Inquiry Project Cycle I

Fun fact: double-checking information and verifying your sources is of utmost importance when you're doing an independent study.

I learned that the hard way.

The way I learn in this independent study is by picking a concept or idea and researching it. I'll read a bunch of articles, scientific reports, sometimes novels, and I'll try to make sense of what they're saying (read: stare at the screen in confusion). Then I'll take the parts that I don't understand, look that up, and try to translate it to layman's terms.

Sometimes, details get lost in translation.

That happened in the first iteration of my inquiry-based project.

I decided to research intelligence and creativity (actually, I initially wanted to research Rex Jung as a possible mentor, but his research on those two topics got me so interested that I started learning about them instead).

I read articles and interviews and published scientific papers that confused the heck out of me, but it all let me dive into these topics.

I learned about a lot of cool stuff; for example, the first thing I brushed up on was intelligence. What comes to mind when I think of intelligence is doing well on tests, getting good grades, and being really book smart. But that definition of intelligence never seemed right

I think my biggest mistake was rushing things and not cross-referencing enough. I read a bunch of Rex Jung articles and interviews as well as papers written by colleagues he's worked with, but I didn't really understand it. I knew that there was a difference between intelligence and creativity, but putting that knowledge into context was really difficult.

I think what I have to keep in mind is that it's going to take time to really understand what I'm reading.

It's okay if I get completely lost when reading lab reports... for now. Because a lot of the topics that I'm trying to learn about are complex and they are difficult to understand and they are still very debated. New theories about the brain pop up every year and we have to constantly redefine words and concepts, alter methodologies, question what we already know, etc. etc.

~~~ Sidenote ~~~

You know, the more I learn about various fields - whether it be pedagogy, neuroscience, philosophy, art, etc. - the more I realize how little we know and are actually sure of. To the few who can get through their careers without having an existential crisis: kudos to you.

~~~ End of sidenote ~~~

That's one of the things that makes it so exciting for me.

The fact that we don't know exactly what goes on in the brain, beneath the surface of that iceberg tip of consciousness, makes it all the more wondrous and interesting.

Featured Posts
Recent Posts
Archive
Search By Tags
No tags yet.
Follow Us
  • Facebook Basic Square
  • Twitter Basic Square
  • Google+ Basic Square
bottom of page