top of page

IS Neuroscience and Learning Technologies Curriculum

Mr. Heidt helped me create a structure for my independent study in neuropsychology.

And because I'm a design/art geek, I drew it out in a mind map.

The independent study itself will be centered around learning technologies.

We split up the study into 5 overlapping concentrations: biology, neuroscience, mind, philosophy, and psychology. Each of THOSE concentrations is then split up into several units - for example, the philosophy unit is split into heutagogy, brain-based learning, ed theories, and pedagogy.

Pretty self-explanatory.

But what this mind map will ultimately help me with is organization. Keeping my learning focused and meaningful, and really finding the connections between those fields so that I can apply what I learned to other areas of life, such as education.

So. The first unit, which I am starting this week, is biology; brain structure.

I'm going to be using online resources (web sites, online textbooks, etc.) to research and gain an understanding about how the brain is structured - which parts do what?

This unit will be mostly research and note-taking, because that's the most efficient way for me to just learn about brain structure. I'm going to be making a poster (sketching and labeling parts of the brain) as a unit project, to get what I'd studied out into physical space and cement my learning.

Goal #1: "Create a curriculum for the independent study as a whole" has been achieved!

Featured Posts
Recent Posts
Archive
Search By Tags
No tags yet.
Follow Us
  • Facebook Basic Square
  • Twitter Basic Square
  • Google+ Basic Square
bottom of page