top of page

Finding Mentors and Connections

Okay. Another reality check.

The first marking period for the independent study has passed, and I have one more left to go.

I have 3 research papers to write, while also dealing with APs, college visits, SATs/ACTs, subject tests, grad project presentation, volunteering, and some other priorities.

I find out that when I list out all the things I have to do, it's easier for me to compartmentalize, prioritize, and find motivation to work. Hard part is not sinking down beneath the weight of all.

So, one thing at a time.

  • Social Media Experiment: analyzing language used on Twitter (blog post coming soon)

I contacted two different linguists, one who works as a researcher for Facebook (in the field of artificial intelligence and computational linguistics), the other a professor of linguistics/computer and physical science in the University of Chicago.

  • Overall COMMotion stuff:

I've been going to Cigus Vanni's college admissions workshops in Radnor, and they really helped put everything in perspective for me.

At the last meeting, I asked Mr. Vanni for advice on finding mentors and working on a project of this scale. He's actually the one who pointed me to Mr. Goldsmith - they were classmates in Swarthmore.

(I don't think I've ever known someone who is in stock photos, so this is frickin cool)

Anyway, I look up to Mr. Vanni like a mentor; he's a former Swarthmore admissions counselor and assistant dean, and is now known as "Cigus the College Fairy" (https://cigus.net/).

If you ever need help with college topics, go to Cigus. If you're going through the I-don't-know-what-the-heck-I'm-doing-with-my-life phase, once again, go to Cigus (or your own school counselor, but Mr. Vanni puts his own little humorous twist on it that just makes your day)

Featured Posts
Recent Posts
Archive
Search By Tags
No tags yet.
Follow Us
  • Facebook Basic Square
  • Twitter Basic Square
  • Google+ Basic Square
bottom of page